Somalia’s SFF Elect New Officials


An election to choose by ballot yet another chairperson of SFF was held at Indian Ocean Hotel in Abdulaziz District today. The voters were drawn from the 25 soccer clubs of SFF. Dr. Yassin Abukar Ariif was elected the new chairperson of SFF. In 1990s, Dr. Yassin served different posts for SFF including the post of the secretary general. Ahmed Mohamed Ahmed and Muhiyadin Dhagaxey were elected to be the 1st Deputy Chairperson and the 2ndChairperson respectively.

On the other hand, the voters there elected the executive committee for SFF which comprises of 6 members who are experienced.

Foreseeing were old soccer professionals and football fans. It is interesting to know that Dr. Yassin becomes the third new chairperson to be elected for the SFF within the last 24 hrs or so! Muhiyadin Hassan Ali aka Darbaweyne and Abdiqani Said Arab were the other two who were elected for the same post.

It is not clear how the federation can have three chairpersons at one go. Moreover, there are no reactions from FIFA and CAF regarding who among the three they recognize as the genuine new chairperson of SFF.